UP LS bypolls: Yogi casts vote in Gorakhpur, confident of BJP win

UP LS bypolls: Yogi casts vote in Gorakhpur, confident of BJP win

UP LS bypolls: Yogi casts vote in Gorakhpur, confident of BJP win

Low voter turnout in the Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabha bypolls on Sunday has given headache for the political parties. The Election Commission has made a decision to use EVMs and VVPATs in the bye-elections in all the polling stations. Another key candidate for the seat is Shambhu Patel from Congress. In OBC-dominated Phulpur, BJP has fielded former Varanasi mayor Kaushalendra Singh Patel, the SP candidate is Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel (both OBCs), and the Congress has given the ticket to Manish Mishra. "People will vote for BJP, keeping in mind PM Modi's policies of development and good governance", he said.

While the Uttar Pradesh constituencies fell vacant after Gorakhpur MP Yogi Adityanath became UP Chief Minister and Phulpur MP Keshav Prasad Maurya became deputy chief minister, all 3 Bihar seats fell vacant due to the death of their respective representatives.

Ten candidates are in the fray from Gorakhpur, while 22 candidates are contesting from Phulpur in the bypolls.

Gorakhpur constituency has been a bastion of Yogi Adityanath who has contested and won on the seat five times in a row. He said the opportunistic alliance between the Bahujan Samaj Party and Samajwadi Party would not affect the BJP's victory. "Their (SP-BSP) votes will be transferred only when they have enough votes. We expect two kinds of voters to reach the polling booths in large numbers: Mayawati's supporters and those fed up with the BJP's anti-poor actions", Kharwar said.

In Bihar, the ruling JD (U)-BJP combine and the opposition RJD-Congress alliance were locked in a battle in Araria Lok seat and the two Assembly constituencies. "BJP will win with a huge vote difference in both Gorakhpur and Phulpur". But, they have only leaders who make statements... Interestingly, it was on this day previous year that BJP and its allies stormed to power in the UP Assembly elections.

By 1pm, polling percentages in Phulpur and Gorakhpur touched 19.2 and 30.2 percent, respectively.

According to the Election Commission, there are 19.61 lakh voters in the Phulpur parliamentary constituency, while the Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seat has a 19.49 lakh electorate.

The counting of votes will be held on March 14.

Related news